I don’t have a lot to write about, I thought I’d just share some of my favorite movies.  This list is a source of pride to me.  I love movies.  I don’t try to compare them to books or television or any other form of entertainment – each gives us things we enjoy.   But movies are a beautiful mix of sight, sound, and emotion; they captivate me and well made movies are as interesting and spectacular to me as a fine piece of art in a museum.  I’m not going to list the obvious choices (Lord of the Rings, American Beauty, 500 Days of Summer, Pride and Prejudice, The Departed, Inception); this list is the more eclectic, maybe you haven’t heard of them movies.  For those of you who have, pat yourself on the back.

  1. In America – This is a must see movie.  Irish family illegally immigrates into America in, oh let’s just say the late 90s (it’s hard to say for sure).  They have to give up their old customs, make attempts at new careers, raise two young daughters, and cope with the recent loss of a son.  The characters, setting, situations, comedy, and sadness are all quite palpable, and I’ll never see this movie enough to satiate my appetite for it.
  2. Away We Go – Aren’t we all just searching for home?
  3. Hard CandyAs I’m sure you know by now, child/sexual abuse/exploitation, female rights, human rights, and justice are all very near to my heart.  This movie is a little more revenge-justice than pure justice, but definitely a perfect thriller.  Plus, this is the reason I knew Ellen Page before most people did.  Patrick Wilson, Sandra Oh, and director David Slade (who also did 30 Days of Night, a favorite horror movie of mine).
  4. Little Children – Based on the book of the same name by Tom Perrotta, which I read prior to seeing the film.  It’s really all about the characters.  The Feminist, the Stay-at-Home-Dad, the Suburban-House-Wives, the Pedophile.  Tom Field has a way with the camera that is similar to the way David Slade does – with a sexy, steady hand and bold colors.
  5. Virgin Suicides and Marie Antoinette – both by Sophia Coppola, who really seems to be making movies for my soul.    Both are so heavy, and yet somehow, so very light.  Like homemade whipped cream on top of rich, evil devil’s food chocolate cake.  I love the Converse shoes in Marie Antoinette.
  6. City of God – Brazilian drug wars, gangs, and a young photo journalist trying to avoid getting caught up in the violence of his poor community.  This movie is perfect.  I especially like the history of the apartment scene (you’ll know it when you see it).
  7. Pray the Devil Back to Hell – documentary on women who wanted peace for their country, Liberia, and what they did to fight for it.  Inspiring. 

That’s all I want to write about right now, but here’s another list of movies I’m sure you know that I also love:

Rear Window, Amalie, The Pianist, Shawshank Redemption, Fight Club, Seven, One Flew over the Cuckoos Nest, Little Women, Kill Bill, Fargo, Batman: The Dark Knight, Eternal Sunshine, Moon, 2001: A Space Odyssey, The Sixth Sense, Brokeback Mt., As Good as it Gets, The Game, 300, Gone with the Wind.

 

