A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseni

Type: fiction literature

Page Count: 372

Received by: borrowed from Kayse Nation

Started reading: 13 April 2011

Finished reading: 19 April 2011

Interest level: 10 – The history and the fiction are so smoothly molded together.  I didn’t know.  There’s so much I didn’t know about Afghani history, and the U.S.’s involvement so long before The War on Terror.  I didn’t know, and what I didn’t know, what I didn’t fight against, caused so much pain.

Life changer: I’m not sure.  I know a lot more now, but there’s not a lot I can do now for the past.  Although it definitely taught me that I should know as much as I can about the PEOPLE of a land where our troops are fighting.  I’m not saying I was totally ignorant, but God, was I ignorant.  And this is only a fiction novel!

Recommendation level: 9 – I knew I wanted to read this book for a long time, but I kept putting it off.  I read it every spare moment in the last week.  The story is riveting, and the pain had me shaking my head and clenching my eyes shut in public.

TTBR Synopsis: Two women’s lives are intertwined as they pass through the last 30-40 years of Afghanistan’s history.  Both of their lives, hopes, talents, and dreams are torn apart by war and, at times, a culture that silences the rights and threatens the lives of women.

