Today our school has midterms.  Midterm tests for elementary kids.  Yes, every class, every grade, all day, taking tests.  The kids are stressed to the max – poor kids!  They’re only elementary students!  But this is Korea – where kids’ lives are regimented and blocked out between school, tutoring, private classes, and tests, tests, tests.

But for us, the Guest English Teachers – midterms are a day (or WEEK, for some people) of rest.  A day where we don’t have to teach – we just gotta show up, keep our desk warm, and twiddle our thumbs in the happy bliss of doing absolutely nothing.  Unless you’re Patrick Shown, in which case this is just another day of visiting every single site ever posted to Stumble Upon. ^^

So on this spring midterm day, I would like to share Big Bang’s song “Stupid Liar.”  채연 (pronounced Chae-yun), one of my favorite 6th grade students, was waiting in my classroom this morning to show me the song – and ask me to write her a good luck note in English for her tests.

(I found these English lyrics on this blog.)

Credit for the translation goes to LoveKpopSubs @ YouTube.

Welcome back (how you doin’ ladies?)
Ya already know what it is
(You can’t touch this)
YG, and another Big Bang

I’m so stupid, I’m so stupid, I’m so stupid in love
I’m so stupid, I’m so stupid, I’m so stupid in love

How could you be so, how could you be so
I can’t believe you (I hate everything about girls)
You throw me away, now if you come to like this
I’ll just cave in again
Blah blah blah, let’s go

Today, you say you’re not feeling well
You’re busy because you put off your assignments
Can’t you just meet your friends
For a brief, cozy, get together and have a cup of tea?
While it hurts me to do this, I try to appear manly again
I pretended I didn’t know
Why do you keep repeating this pattern?
When you open your mouth, you just spit out lies
Your nose is extended like Pinocchio

What are your true feeling? What am I to you?
I can’t just let it go this time
From Monday to Sunday, am I choice?
Hey baby, don’t lie to me, oh

Hey, I’m going crazy, I’m going crazy
Look at that expression, as if you don’t have a clue
I’m getting tired now, I’m getting tired now, let’s stop meeting
I know everything, baby I don’t hate you
I like you just the way you are but I’m
I’m going crazy, I’m getting tired
Liar, liar, stupid liar, liar, liar, liar

With your hidden smile, who’s your attention on?
Every time you get like that I become worried
You become scary, should I see my friends?
I’m becoming anxious

Let me tell ya
If I could turn, turn, turn, turn and go back
If there were times I was angry, it’s already too late
You become tired of the things I’ve done
That give you a hard time
At any rate, love is a crime to the other person
Like who blames others when he/she gets hurt
Everything’s exactly the same

Hey, I’m going crazy, I’m going crazy
Look at that expression, as if you don’t have a clue
I’m getting tired now, I’m getting tired now, let’s stop meeting
I know everything, baby I don’t hate you
I like you just the way you are but I’m
I’m going crazy, I’m getting tired
Liar, liar, stupid liar, liar, liar, liar

Behind your pretty face is another side of you
Now I’ve come to hate it too
Can’t you return to the person you were when we first met?

I’m so stupid, I’m so stupid, I’m so stupid
I am stupid, I’m so stupid, stupid
I’m so stupid, I’m so stupid, I’m so stupid
I am stupid, I’m so stupid, stupid

Hey, I’m going crazy, I’m going crazy
Look at that expression, as if you don’t have a clue
I’m getting tired now, I’m getting tired now, let’s stop meeting
I know everything, baby I don’t hate you
I like you just the way you are but I’m
I’m going crazy, I’m getting tired
Liar, liar, stupid liar, liar, liar, liar

