I just quickly reviewed the titles of the books I read this year.  Here they are, if you forgot (in chronological order):

  1. The Girls of Ames
  2. This is Korea
  3. The Help
  4. Road of Lost Innocense
  5. Not for Sale
  6. Kira-Kira
  7. The Outcasts of 19 Shuyler Plac
  8. The Red Tent
  9. A Thousand Splendid Suns
  10. Love Wins
  11. American Wife***
  12. Prep*
  13. The Dolphin People
  14. Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
  15. Say You’re One of Them
  16. Mennonite in a Little Black Dress
  17. Flowers for Algernon*
  18. Divergent
  19. Bel Canto
  20. Middlesex
  21. The Night Circus
  22. The Outsiders*
  23. (currently (re)reading) The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo*
(* indicates how many times I’ve read it before)

My goal at the beginning of the year was 30 books, but I wasn’t able to reach it.  I blame that on a couple of things.  One was that I read some books that were really heavy on my thoughts after I read them, and I took me some time to recover and get involved in some new literature.  Also, getting my hands on books isn’t the simplest task here, so sometimes I had to wait for books to be shipped to me or get to a good English bookstore.

Here are my favorites:

  1. Bel Canto
  2. Middlesex
  3. The Help
  4. The Dolphin People
  5. A Thousand Splendid Suns
  6. The Red Tent

Here are the two that changed my life:

  1. Not for Sale
  2. Love Wins

These were the most entertaining:

  1. American Wife (this was the 4th time I read it)
  2. The Dophin People
  3. The Night Circus
  4. The Red Tent
  5. A Thousand Splendid Suns

This was the worst book I’ve ever read in my life:

  • Divergent – This is worse than Twilight.

I’m hopeful that next year’s adventures in literature will be as entertaining and rewarding as 2011 has been.

