Well put, my friend.

Us in Busan

As we approach 5 months living in Korea, I thought it’d be a good time to talk about culture and culture shock again. I wrote a few months ago about experiencing culture shock at school and how much anxiety I was feeling because of it. (According to the Wikipedia, this is called the “negotiation phase”.*) Although I’m sure I’m still working through a few of the kinks associated with the negotiation phase, I’ve made progress. It no longer fills me with despair when people don’t chat with me at lunch. I can stand up on the bus and not die. I can deal with people staring and pointing at me. I can kind of handle multiple people running into me in public. (That one still has its limits, though, especially when I’m already “in a mood”.) I can eat in almost any restaurant without stressing about how to order and what to…

View original post 920 more words

