Photo on 2-6-13 at 2.50 PM #2

Oh hey! Just taking pictures of myself again. Because, ya know. My blog. And I was raised by a pack of narcissists. JK.

This week of teaching is a total bust. The next week and a half will fly by, إن شاء الله. Three girls are playing UNO in my classroom, waiting for me to teach them how to read a cookie recipe in English so we can make cookies on Friday. After a full year of trying (and not trying) to come up with a lesson that will interest them, I finally find one two weeks before the school year is over.

I’ve picked up the story again. For those of you (most of you) who don’t know, I’ve had a story idea in my head since high school (like, 9 years ago!), which I only started to write after college (about 4 years ago!), and have been revising the entire time I’ve been in Korea. I pick it up and set it aside all the time, giving myself time away from it so I can look at it with fresh eyes. This time was the first time I read it from beginning to end, in probably at least close to the order that it will be in when it’s finally complete. I realized I narrate too much, and I need to more clearly define the actions and goals of the characters at different points in the story. But I’m pretty happy with where I’m at with it right now.

Don’t get too interested. I may never share it with anyone. It’s not great. It would be considered YA fiction at best, but at least it’s not infused with rape culture  like Twilight!

Here, I’ll give you a short little preview of the story:

native language. But after

Yikes! Don’t want to give too much away! Check your local bookstores and online self publishers!

