Looking for Alaska by John Green

Type: fiction

Page Count: 231

Received by: bought at What The Book?

Started reading: 23 February 2013

Finished reading: 24 February 2013

Interest level: 10 – I bought it 25 hours ago. Finished it 30 minutes ago. Any book willing to dive into thoughts on death and dying is interesting to me.

Recommendation level: 8 – It’s short, it’s deep, it’s touching.

TTBR Synopsis: Friends contemplate life and death. And death and death.

Some favorite passages:

“Jesus, I’m not going to be one of those people who sits around talking about what they’re gonna do. I’m just going to do it. Imagining the future is a kind of nostalgia.”

I found myself thinking about President William McKinley, the third American president to be assassinated. He lived for several days after he was shot, and toward the end, his wife started crying and screaming, “I want to go, too! I want to go, too!” And with his last measure of strength, McKinley turned to her and spoke his last words: “We are all going.”

I knew that I would know more dead people. The bodies pile up. Could there be a space in my memory for each of them, or would I forget a little of — every day for the rest of my life?

It always shocked me when I realized that I wasn’t the only person in the world who thought and felt such strange and awful things.

